Skip to content

Setting Up User Permissions for a Project

Shane Wilson edited this page Jun 1, 2012 · 7 revisions

To setup user permissions for a project you will need a project and some users. This tutorial will walk through the following steps:

  1. Creating a Project
  2. Adding new Users
  3. Granting Users Access
  4. Removing Access

1. Creating a Project

NOTE: If you are coming from the Tutorial you can skip this step.

Select Projects from the navigation menu.

Image

Click Image and enter the following project details into the dialog box:

Image

After creating the project, you can select it from the list to be taken to the project's details page.

2. Adding new Users

Click on the Access Control menu item to enter the Administration area:

Image

Click on Image and enter your user details into the popup:

Image

Select Image and the new user will be added to the list of users.

Repeat this step using the following user data:

Image

3. Granting Users Access

After creating some new users you can now grant them access to your project. To view your project's details, select Projects from the navigation menu and select the Simulated project from the list of projects:

Image

This will take you to your project's details page and from here you want to select the Image button where you can edit user permission for the project.

You are automatically assigned to the Owners group after creating a project and this give you permission to add other users to your project. To give a user permission to add and delete samples add them to the Collaborators group. Add the user collab_user to the Collaborators group:

Image

To give a user permission to view a project without the ability to change it, you can add them to the Users group. Add the user user_user to the Users group:

Image

You can also add other users to the Owners group, which will give them full access to the project. Including permission to add and remove other owners.

NOTE: When adding other users to the Owners group there is no distinction between an owner and the original project creator.

4. Removing Access

You can remove a user from an access group by clicking the x next to their username:

Image

Clone this wiki locally